We Don’t Need Roads

by Ethan Doherty

Fast….this is a place I haven’t been in a long time. It’s been almost two years since my last PR, and for me this is very tough to deal with. I do have to keep in mind that in this time I have had several setbacks due to a car wreck and other nagging injuries. What better way to move forward than to look back at what has helped and worked for me before? Doing this has helped me make huge progress already since arriving in Austin in late August. I have been consistently putting in good workouts and focusing on all the little things that need to be done every day, allowing me to continuously get closer to where the rest of the group is.

Recently I have been able to get back on the track and start racing. This has been frustrating because I just want to step on the track and PR every race! I have to keep in mind that’s not how it is always going to work, but slowly and surely I’ve been racing my way back to peak form. I am working every time I get out on the track to be more comfortable with being uncomfortable. Patience is the key right now for me, because I’m totally relearning how to run the mile and how to hurt for such a short fast race. As indoor season draws to an end I head into outdoor season with determination and focus to get back to racing fast.

With outdoor season here I am excited for what’s to come. Outdoor is by far where I feel the most at home, racing around the 400m oval in the blistering heat. My training has been going really well and I can’t wait to see what I can do with my outdoor season. I’m going to continue being patient with the results because I know success doesn’t happen overnight. I’m just going to go out and compete every time that I step on the track. I have never trained harder than I am now, and the reason for this is the team I have around me; my coaches, teammates, and friends that are pushing me to new heights every day. I’m looking forward to more great training and some PRs this season!

As Doc says in Back to the Future II:

Ethan 1

I just need the track.

Posted on February 25, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

