Back Running

by Michelle Finn

January 10th, 2014            

It’s 6 a.m. when my alarm goes off. At 6:05 I grumpily climb out of bed. Kristen has already left for a run. Pffff overachiever. I open the door and look out. It’s dark.  And freezing. Great. I hop on my bike and head for the pool. When I get there, there’s steam rising from the pool. Gross. I swim. I hate swimming. I aqua jog. I hate aqua jogging. I hop back on my bike and head home. I wish I couldn’t feel my hands, but they’re so cold it’s actually painful. It takes almost five minutes for me to unlock the door. I do my PT exercises. I hate my PT exercises. Injuries suck.

Clearly, I need a kick up the arse.

January 11th, 2014

It’s 6 a.m. when my alarm goes off. At 6:05 I grumpily climb out of bed. Kristen has already left for a run. Pfff overachiever. I open the door and look out. It’s dark. And freezing. Great. I hop on my bike and head for the pool.  When I get there, there’s steam rising from the pool. Gross. I swim. I still hate swimming. I aqua jog. I still hate aqua jogging. I hop back on my bike and head home. I wish I couldn’t feel my hands, but they’re so cold it’s actually painful. It takes almost five minutes for me to unlock the door. I do my PT exercises. I still hate my PT exercises. Injuries still suck.

                              Michelle 4

 Clearly, I still need a kick up the arse.

January 12th, 2014

It’s 6 a.m. when my alarm goes off. At 6.05 I grumpily climb out of bed. Kristen has already left for a run. Pfff overachiever. I open the door and look out. It’s dark. And freezing. Great. I don’t hop on my bike. I don’t swim. I don’t aqua jog. I don’t do my PT exercises. I still hate cross-training.  Injuries still suck. I click on Facebook to see what my Irish friends are up to.  (DEFINITELY still need a kick up the arse!!!)

Michelle 3

I laugh. Hard. I want to go home.

January 13th, 14th, 15th, 2014

Repeat January 12th.

January 16th, 2014

I cave. My visa is up at the end of the summer, and I’ve been saving to apply for a new one so I can stay in Austin to #JFR with the mighty Rogues. Butttt being the eejit [sic] that I am, I use most of my savings to fly home.

At home, I do everything runners “shouldn’t” do. Ahem, ahem… I also got that much needed kick!

February 7th, 2014

I arrive back in Austin. Kristen has already got her run done.  Do I have to say overachiever?! I GO FOR A RUNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!! WOOOOOOOOWOOOOOWOOOOOOWAAAHEEEEEEYYYYYAHOOOOOYIPEEEEEEEEEEKKKKKKJDVNDKJKJVNFKJ NFKJ NKJFN JFDKN FKJ KFJ N!!!!

February 8th, 2014

I wake up before my alarm! Whaa whaaaa! I RUNNNNN! JT makes me do my PT exercises. (Thanks JT!) I kind of like my PT exercises today…

These days every run feels like this…

Michelle 2

Fine, maybe more like this…

Michelle 1

Either way, I’m happy!

Morals of the story:

  1. Marathon High Kids are the best.
  2. Dogs are also wonderful!
  3. Guinness and chocolate cure all injuries. Lots of Guinness. And lots of chocolate.
  4. Kristen is awh-some! J
  5. Sometimes a kick up the arse is absolutely essential.

*For the record: grumpiness is exaggerated, I love Austin and everything about Rogue, no Kristens were harmed during the creation of this blog, and I lied about liking my PT exercises!!!

Posted on February 21, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

